The Complaint Shop

Tell the World

 

What went

 

Wrong and

 

Hopefully the

 

                                    All Your Complaints under one Roof

World gets

 

 

 

 

 

better

 

 

 

 

Link to this subject

 

 

 

Home

Contacts

Daily Mail

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Texaco
Petrol Stations

 

Texaco 
  
      Company not co-operative
Complaint not resolved

 

 

 

 

 

Complainant:

D H Speckner - Dudley

 

 

 

 

 

 

Date

8th December 2002

 

Complaint:

 

 

 

 

 

The Daily Mail ran a promotion in conjunction with Texaco to give away">

The Complaint Shop

Tell the World

 

What went

 

Wrong and

 

Hopefully the

 

                                    All Your Complaints under one Roof

World gets

 

 

 

 

 

better

 

 

 

 

Link to this subject

 

 

 

Home

Contacts

Daily Mail

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Texaco
Petrol Stations

 

Texaco 
  
      Company not co-operative
Complaint not resolved

 

 

 

 

 

Complainant:

D H Speckner - Dudley

 

 

 

 

 

 

Date

8th December 2002

 

Complaint:

 

 

 

 

 

The Daily Mail ran a promotion in conjunction with Texaco to give away, free of charge, a box of Quality Street sweets upon redemption of vouchers which were printed in the Mail on consecutive days. Having collected all the vouchers necessary, my wife tried on numerous occasions to collect the box of chocolates from our local Texaco garage without success. All in all she went 3 times only to be told on the last call that they would not receive any further supplies. When I contacted Texaco by e-mail they apologised and instructed me to send the vouchers to their Marketing Department who would redeem them.
This was six weeks ago and I had no chocolates or the courtesy of a reply. I have now sent another letter [6th December 2002]
Update 18th December 2002
I have now received a letter from a Geraldine Iles, who is their Consumer Promotions Co-ordinator in the UK, admitting that they were fully aware that the participating petrol stations had no supplies to satisfy the demand and that they pulled the plug on the promotion and brought the offer to an early close.  The letter continues that they would send the chocolates to any applications received up to and including Monday the 21st October 2002 and that my application has been declined as it was received after this date.
In response to this letter I would like to make the following statement:
It is becoming obvious that they are making up the rules and regulations as they go along and that they are clearly breaching the conditions of this offer. None of the staff in the petrol stations was made aware that they brought the offer to an early close. The offer itself quite clearly states and I quote ' ........take this voucher to a participating Texaco site by Friday, October 18, 2002. The cashier will exchange it for a free box of Quality Street (480g).'
This is a definite statement and an unconditional offer which does not allow that the offer can be withdrawn, amended or changed. It makes a firm promise to anyone calling at the petrol station with the voucher that they would receive a free box of Quality Street chocolates.
In my case I contacted Texaco on the 16th October 2002 by e-mail and received a reply on the 17th October 2002 which apologises for the inconvenience and invited me to submit my voucher to an address in St. Albans. The e-mail does not stipulate a qualifying date and the date 21st October 2002 has never been mentioned by Texaco until the letter received now.
 
I have now written again to Texaco and I will update this site if and when I receive a reply.
 
In the meantime I leave it to you, wherever you are, to make up your own mind as to the reliability, honesty, dependability and trustworthiness of a  multinational company who goes to great length  to wiggle themselves out of a promotion, they messed  up, to save themselves the cost of a box of chocolates. How sad!
Update: 05/03/2003
I have now received a box of Quality Street Chocolates in the post without any comments and a letter from their Legal Department claiming that they have investigated this matter and that they cannot trace having received the vouchers. They do, however, accept responsibility and have offered a compensation of 70.00 in petrol vouchers in addition to supplying the free box of chocolates. The offer has now been accepted but I have written back to point out that their marketing department had confirmed in writing receipt of the vouchers and I sent them a copy of this letter to prove my point.
I will close this file upon receipt of the vouchers
Update: 24/03/2003
Regretfully, Texaco have not responded to my letter and have not sent me the petrol vouchers they promised. I have now written yet another letter to their legal department requesting that they keep to their agreement and I have told them that I will withdraw my acceptance and issue a default summons if I don't hear from them soon.
Update: 28/03/2003
Texaco have now sent a fax claiming that they have no trace of receiving my letter and my acceptance and I have now sent them this information by fax as requested.
Update: 08/04/2003
As I have still not heard from Texaco I have sent them yet another letter giving them notice that I will withdraw my acceptance if the vouchers they had promised are not received within the next 14 days and that I will revert back to the County Court to claim my expenses, which clearly are increasing.
Update: 16/04/2003
The vouchers to the value of 70.00 have now been received by registered mail and the file is now closed.

 

Complaint Status
CLOSEDC
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

Unacceptable

*

 

Efficiency      :

  *

 

Very poor

**

 

Time of Reply:

  *

 

Poor

***

 

  Initial Response

 ****

 

Acceptable

****

 

General   Attitude

 *

 

Good

*****

 

 

 

 

Excellent

******

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Links to this Subject
 
Daily Mail National Newspaper
   
         

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

        
                                                              Last Update: 17/10/2007